Jan 16, 2010 Annual Business Member Meeting

We have the Issacson classroom at the CUH reserved for the Member Meeting on Jan 16.  Our guest speaker will be Jacky King, from the Mt Vernon WSU research station.  Her topic will be ‘Best Fruit Varieties for the PNW’.  Our Librarian, Jack, will be bringing the book that Jacky authored ‘Fruit Handbook for Western WA, Varieties& Culture’ and will have them available for sale at the meeting.  This meeting on Jan 16th is officially our Annual Business Meeting.  I, unfortunately, will miss this meeting and John Reardon, VP, has graciously said that he would lead the meeting.  The time schedule is as follows…

9-9:30 Board Meeting

9:30 -10:30 Member Business Meeting

10:30 – 11 Break , Jack sells ‘Fruit Handbook for Western WA, Varieties& Culture’

11-12  Jacky’s presentation


Our Treasurer, Bill Moritz, has worked up the agenda for the Business meeting and here it is…


Notice is hereby given that the Annual Meeting of the Seattle Tree Fruit Society will take place on January 16, 2010.  The meeting will be held in the Issacson Classroom at the Center for Urban Horticulture, 3501 NE 41st St, Seattle WA 98105, and start at 9:30 AM.


Among the items to be discussed are:


President’s Report – The President [VP in her absence] will provide an overview of the Society’s activities for 2009 including our monthly meetings, summer garden tours, the Spring and Fall Shows and our participation in the Seattle Flower and Garden Show.  Plans for 2010 will also be presented and ideas or suggestions from the membership will be solicited.


Treasurer’s Report – The Treasurer will report on the financial affairs of the Society including a summary of our income and expenses for 2009.  In addition, a membership report will also be included.


Election of  Directors: – Our Board consists of between 4 and 7 Directors, who are elected by the membership to 3 year terms, and the Officers who are elected by the Directors.  Currently we have four Directors with unexpired terms:  Position #3 – Linda Sartnurak (Expires 2012); #4 – Joslyn Slaughter [completing Jack Pedigo’s term] (2012); #5 – Marlene Falkenbury (2011); and #6 – Jayson Akai [completing Kathy Mendelson’s term] (2011).


At the meeting we have the opportunity to elect up to 3 additional Directors.  We are fortunate to have the following members who have agreed to be nominated for terms expiring in 2013:  Position #1 – Mike Ewanciw; #2 – Laure Jansen (USP Editor); and #7 – Jerry Packard (Magnuson Orchard).  Other nominations will be accepted from the floor at the meeting.


Other Business:  Members may bring up any other items of business.



Comments are closed.